Priority Provinces for the National ID Registration

Probably one of the essential proofs of identity a person has to own is a valid government-issued ID that can be used to access or accomplish various transactions. However, if you live in the Philippines, you have to have not just one or two, but a minimum of three valid IDs, each for specific purposes.

Read Also: Get ready for the start of the National ID registration!

In 2018, the Republic Act No. 11055, Philippine Identification System (PhilSys) Act was signed by President Rodrigo Duterte to address this concern. PhilSys aims to simplify the citizens’ identification by establishing a single national ID system that consolidates all essential information of the individual. Simply put, the national ID is all of the valid government-issued IDs merged into one. The ID shall also contain the PhilSys number, full name, facial image, sex, date of birth, blood type, and address of the concerned individual.

Objectives of the National ID Registration

According to the Philippine Statistic Office (PSA), the objectives of PhilSys are to:

  1. Make services more accessible to all;
  2. Facilitate ease of doing business;
  3. Reduce fraud;
  4. Promote digital government and digital economy; and
  5. Empower Filipinos in controlling their personal data.

The PhilSys Registry Office (PRO) started the initial steps of the national ID development in June 2020. Currently, PSA coordinates with concerned agencies and sectors to ensure a smooth registration process.

Due to the current global health crisis, PSA shall prioritize low-income households in the registration for the national IDs for better dissemination of cash assistance.

List of Priority Provinces

In cooperation with the Department of Interior and Local Government (DILG), more than thirty (30) provinces were identified to be the priority in the introduction of the PhilSys, which includes:

  • Region I – Ilocos Sur, La Union, Pangasinan;
  • Region II – Cagayan, Isabela;
  • Region III – Bataan, Bulacan, Pampanga, Nueva Ecija, Tarlac, Zambales;
  • Region IV-A – Batangas, Cavite, Laguna, Rizal;
  • Region V – Albay, Camarines Sur, Masbate;
  • Region VI – Antique, Capiz, Iloilo, Negros Occidental;
  • Region VII – Bohol, Cebu, Negros Oriental;
  • Region VIII – Leyte;
  • Region IX – Compostela Valley, Davao del Norte, Davao del Sur, Davao Occidental; and
  • BARMM – Tawi-Tawi.

Read Also: National ID Registration System | Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

PSA aims to open the registration for the priority provinces in the last quarter of the year 2020 and to the rest of the general public in 2021. By the end of 2022, the majority of the Filipinos shall have registered for the national ID.



Sign up and be the first one to get notified on new updates from about job opportunities, free seminars and trainings, scholarship, and government memorandum circulars.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.